Read on to learn how to add, edit, and organize your clients.

Because clients are at the center of your business, they are always accessible in the left panel. Star the clients you work with the most for quickest access.

Add a client

To add a new client, click "Clients" and "+ New client" and fill out the modal that appears. The company name is the only required information, but we recommend including as much detail as possible. Anything you add to client details here will automatically populate for you in other areas of Hectic (like when you’re sending proposals or creating invoices).

Editing a client

Once you’ve created a client, it’s easy to update their details as needed. Click the client’s name to open the individual client’s overview.

In the client overview, click the client's name to edit the client details or archive the client.

Within the edit client details modal, you have a page for the client's business info and a page for invoicing and payment settings. Here is where you can set your billing to round to a set increment, adjust payment terms, deposit requirements, automatic or manual invoices, and choose to pass credit card fees on to your clients.

Managing clients

In the "Invoices" tab, see past and upcoming invoices for your client, or create a new one. Use the Deposits tab to view or request deposits. Learn more about invoicing.

If your project pricing includes a deposit, request and view deposits in the "Deposit" tab.

In the "Time worked" tab, you can see and edit all your past hours, including their status (billed or un-billed), and you can add additional time entries.

Create, review, and send agreements in the "Agreements" tab. You can send quotes, contracts, or proposals. Learn more about proposals.

Use Hectic forms to learn more about prospective clients or ask for feedback once a project is finished. Use the "Forms" tab to create and send forms or view responses. Learn more about forms.

Archiving / deleting a client

If you have a client you are no longer working with, it is some times beneficial to remove that client from your active work space. If you have transacted business with the client and have invoices, proposals, projects, etc - we always suggest you simply archive the client so you don't need to see the record. Hectic will retain all of the data and history, and if you ever need to retrieve it - the information will be there for you.

If you haven't transacted business with the client - or the record was entered in error, you do have the option to delete the client and all of their associated files and data. Please note that this cannot be undone and once a client is deleted, that information is gone for good.

You can access the archive and delete functionality by navigating to the client record by clicking on the Client name in the left nav and then clicking on the name in the top of the screen. From there you will have options for both archive and delete (trash can icon).

Ready to learn more? Read about managing the client lifecycle in Hectic, or adding a project.

Did this answer your question?