Hectic makes it easy to collaborate with other freelancers on shared projects. Add a user to a single project, or give another person full access to your Hectic workspace.

Team member vs. project collaborator permissions

The chart below lays out the access available to a team member and a project collaborator

Full access team member

Project collaborator

Track time on a project

View, edit, and create deliverables

Add and edit client info

Add new projects

Make account settings changes (like adding an integration)

Add or remove other users

Send invoices

Add expenses

Send a proposal

Change or remove the account owner

Adding collaborators to a single project

Adding a project collaborator will allow someone else to access and edit a single project in Hectic. Use this feature to include someone who is working with you on a small number of projects.

To add a project collaborator, navigate to that client’s Projects tab. Open the project, then click + next to Collaborators and enter the new user’s email address.

The invite they receive will contain a link that is valid for 7 days; if the invitation is not accepted before it expires, you’ll need to invite them again.

Adding a full access team member (Hectic Teams plan required**)

If you work on most or all of your projects with a fellow freelancer, you may want to provide them with full account access. A full access team member can see everything you can (clients, projects, and more), and can add or remove other users. The account owner cannot be removed.

To add a full account user, open up your account menu and click Team members. Use the Add team member button to add a user.

Once you invite them, they will receive an email with a link to join that is valid for 7 days. If that link expires before they join, you’ll need to resend the invite.

Managing multiple workspaces

If you are currently a full access team member or project collaborator on another user’s Hectic account, you can add your own workspace under the same login. To add a personal workspace, sign out of your account, then use the “Sign up now” button on the Hectic home page.

Once you’ve added a personal workspace and logged in, you’ll be able to switch between workspaces in your settings menu. Open the settings menu, then use the carrot to display all workspaces you have access to. Click a workspace to switch into it.

Did this answer your question?